Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Award for Best young Women Scientists in Developing countries

The Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World OWSDW has announced the 2011 call for Prizes for young women scientists in developing countries. The award of prizes aims to recognize and reward outstanding, young female scientists living in developing countries.  

The Organization for Women in Science for the Developing World (OWSDW) is an independent, non-profit and non-governmental body based at the offices of TWAS, the Academy of Sciences for the Developing World, in Trieste, Italy.

Its aim is to play a vital role in increasing women’s access to science and technology and in promoting greater participation of women scientists and technologists in the development process of their respective countries and in the international community.

The general objective of the Organization is the promotion of women in science and technology in the developing world with a view to strengthening their role in the development of their countries through directing their scientific activities to the improvement of the quality of life of the majority of their people.

Award for Best young Women Scientists in Developing countries
PURPOSE: OWSDW Prizes have been established to recognize women scientists working and living in developing countries who have made significant contributions to the advancement of scientific knowledge.
With the support of TWAS and the Elsevier Foundation prizes of US$5,000 will be awarded to the best young female scientists in three categories:
  • Biology,
  • Chemistry and
  • Physics/mathematics
from each of the four regions of the developing world
  • Africa,
  • Arab region,
  • Asia and the Pacific,
  • Latin America and the Caribbean
TWAS is an autonomous international organization founded in Trieste, Italy, in 1983. TWAS, which currently counts more than 900 eminent scientists as members, represents the best of science in the developing world. Its principal aim is to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the South.

The ELSEVIER FOUNDATION provides support for institutions in the global health and science communities working to advance scholarship and improve lives through scientific, technical and medical knowledge.

Nominees must be female nationals of a developing country aged 45 or under on 31 December 2011 who have lived and worked in a developing country for at least the past 3 years. Nominees must have received their most recent degree (Masters or PhD) within the previous 10 years.

Nominations are invited from national science academies, OWSDW members, TWAS members, senior academics (heads of departments, heads of universities), etc.
Self-nomination or nomination by selection committee members is not accepted.

Please note that the following documents must be submitted: 1. The nomination form; 2. The candidate's curriculum vitae including her full list of publications; 3. Three reference letters.

The selection process will be administered by OWSDW. The assessment will be based on achievements in the field, with particular attention paid to the nominees’ publications in international peer-reviewed journals.

Additional information and nomination forms are available from the OWSDW Secretariat (
Nominations for the 2011 prizes should be sent by 30 APRIL to:
Prizes – OWSDW, ICTP campus, Strada Costiera 11, 34151 Trieste, Italy
Tel: +39 040 2240321 - Fax: +39 040 2240689 - E-mail:

Additional information and nomination forms can be downloaded HERE

Deadline for nominations: 30 APRIL 2011

No comments:

Post a Comment

Nigeria Computer Society

Nigeria Computer Society
- promoting change and development for all